FAQs :: 3. PC - Windows

3.1. nube R app for desktops

Once you’ve correctly installed the nube R application on your computer (Windows), you’ll find a “nube R” folder under “My Documents”.

Any files or folders that you make or drag into the “nube R” folder will automatically upload to your nube R account. Any changes you make to these files or folders, will also automatically save in nube R.

3.2. Uploading files and folders that are not inside the “nube R” folder

Files and folders outside of the “nube R” folder will not synchronize nor upload automatically to your nube R account.

Only those files and folders inside the “nube R” folder in “My Documents” will update automatically.

You’ll need to move all folders or files that you want to upload or update automatically into the “nube R” folder.

3.3. Updating the installed nube R version and limitations

nube R will automatically notify you when version updates are available. If you accept to install the new version, nube R will take care of the rest.

Each individual license allows up to two associated desktop (PC or Mac). If you've reached the maximum, you can create or acquire new individual licenses. If you have any problems send an email to support.

3.4. File Upload/Update when I’m disconnected

You don’t need to worry about file uploads/updates or turning off your computer in the middle of the synchronization process with nube R’s servers.

nube R for the PC (Window) uploads and updates files automatically, managing any interruptions.

If your computer is turned off or loses the Internet connection, nube R will only pick up the upload/update only when the connection is back. Once the connection is recovered, all and any changed files will be updated to the nube R server and on all other computers running nube R and linked to your account.

3.5. Changing the nube R account linked to a computer

nube R for computers (PCs) is linked to one single account. If you want to change the account linked to the nube R application you have installed, you’ll need to reinstall the application.

All of your computers that are using nube R are connected to the same account, so when you update files, they synchronize across all of your computers. If you were to change the linked account, you could possibly synchronize files that belong to other accounts by mistake.

3.6. nube R is available in different languages

nube R for the PC (Windows) is available in both English and Spanish. You can choose the language during the nube R installation process.

3.7. Uninstalling nube R

There are two options for uninstalling nube R:

  1. Using the default Windows Uninstall default utility
    1. Go to the Start Menu. Click on the Control Panel and then on Programs.
    2. Click on “Uninstall”.
  2. nube R Uninstall
    1. Go to the Startup Menu and select nube R.
    2. Click un the “Uninstall” option
  3. Send the folder sharing invitation and you’re all set.

3.8. Can I have two different nube R accounts in the same computer?

No, you cannot have your computer linked to two different nube R accounts.

But you can access a different nube R account than the one assigned to your computer, by accessing it through the nube R website. Just open your browser and access using the login of the other account.

3.9. Unlink the desktop app from my PC

To change the username associated with the nube R App on your PC, or to change the location of the nube R folder on your PC, you must first “unlink” the nube R app on your PC from your nube R account:

  • Use the mouse to hover over the nube R icon in the lower right-hand side of your screen and right-click on the mouse.
  • Select "Settings" from the popup menu.
  • Go to the unlink tab and click on the "Unlink" button. The nube R app on the PC will stop synchronizing with your nube R account.
  • The nube R app on your PC will prompt you for a username and password. If you enter a new username, nube R will replicate all the new username’s files and folders from the nube R app on the web onto the nube R app on the PC. You could also change the location of the nube R folder, but remember to move all the files you want to retain to the new nube R folder. Otherwise, old nube R files will be permanently within 30 calendar days. Note that unless you delete all files and folders belonging to the previous user, these will be merged with those belonging to the new user.

3.10. Adding files to your nube R account

Once you’ve installed the nube R application on your PC or laptop (Windows), a “nube R” folder will appear in “My Documents”.

All files found in the “nube R” folder will automatically synchronize with our servers. This means that all of the files you have in your “nube R” folder will also be available on all of your other computers running nube R.

3.11. When are files updated on my PC?

nube R automatically updates files on all computers where you have nube R installed and linked to your account. Any changes that you make to files managed by nube R, will automatically update across your devices.

You’ll know that nube R for Windows is updating your files when you see the following symbol over the nube R logo:

3.12. Pausing file updates and uploads

If for some reason you prefer not to update or upload your files, nube R for PC (Windows) allows you to pause file synchronization.

Instructions for pausing file synchronization:

  1. In the Start menu, right click on the nube R icon.
  2. Select the “Pause” option.
  3. In order to resume synchronization, go to the same menu.
  4. Click on “Resume” and nube R will begin updating your files.

3.13. Technical requirements

For a proper installation and operation of the desktop app the following requirements are needed:

  • For the Windows PC app:
    • Intel Core 2 or similar
    • 1GB of RAM
    • 300 MB of available disk space
    • Screen resolution of 1024x768 pixels or higher
    • Microsoft Windows 7, 8 or 10
  • For the Apple Mac app:
    • 1GB of RAM
    • 300 MB of available disk space
    • Screen resolution of 1024x768 pixels or higher
    • Mac OSX 10.9 onwards.
  • Connectivity: for an optimum user experience we strongly recommend an Internet connection of 10Mb download and 1Mb upload bandwidth. Nevertheless, lesser capacities will provide a perfect use of the product.